 |
 |
GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
tkoyl240am Agent

Joined: 22 Jun 2008 Posts: 2 Location: 250  |
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:59 pm Post subject: Goldeneye Editor help with counters |
 |
|
Hey guys I just started using the editor about a week ago so i'm having a few problems..
Here's a quick background; I read all the tutorials on goldeneye vault and i do have some experience with coding, such as with game maker.
I enclosed the code I have for an action block. 1 guard in the Dam level is assigned this action block, and that is all. Obviously this is a single player level and you can easily tell by the text I have implemented that it's for the dam.
The problem is. The text will not appear. I have probably made some mistakes that the syntax cannot find so please any help understanding this is appreciated. I have counters throughout the code (may be a little sloppy) that basically are meant to display a message, wait, display another one, wait, etc. But this is not working at all.
I've tried messing with the code and I've gotten the text to appear without the counters involved so it has to do with them.. But the text goes by so fast and it doesnt even display some of it because its so fast so i decided I needed counters. Too bad they have never worked for me so I can't pinpoint the exact problem. I'm not even sure if the '40', '80', etc. are even good times since it hasnt worked for me. I've also tried '80', '180', '280', etc. with no difference.
I have many plans for recreation so chances are I'll need help with other ideas, but for now this is all i'm having troubles with. Thanks to anyone who reads and responds..
Code: | 0416:
0200 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
4B002001 Return Value Loop If Within Proximity Of Bond (0020)
0100 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0201 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
AF Reset Cycle Counter
B1 Enable Cycle Counter
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400004002 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000040)
0101 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0202 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
C32C0A Display Text Preset - AGENT: Don't shoot.. Mr. Bond.*
0203 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400008004 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000080)
0103 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0204 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
C32C0B Display Text Preset - AGENT: Here's a key and the explosives you *are going to need.*
0205 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400012006 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000120)
0105 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0206 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
C32C0C Display Text Preset - 007: What's the key for?*
0207 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400016008 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000160)
0107 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0208 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
C32C0D Display Text Preset - AGENT: There's a boat waiting for you at the *docks.*
05FD0001 JAL To Function (Guard [whatever called it]) (JAL TO: 0001)
04 Terminator |
_________________ Been playing Goldeneye since 1997 baby. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
SubDrag Administrator

Joined: 16 Aug 2006 Posts: 6168
 |
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:12 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
Welcome
Here's your problem:
Code: | 0201 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
AF Reset Cycle Counter
B1 Enable Cycle Counter
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400004002 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000040)
0101 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop |
You see how you do 0101? That means you go back to 0201. Which resets the cycle counter again. So most likely it'll never escape this sequence because it keeps restarting the sequence counter. Otherwise it looks spot on! Well done for learning it so quickly
Fixed would be something like:
Code: | 0201 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
AF Reset Cycle Counter
B1 Enable Cycle Counter
0277
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400004002 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000040)
0177 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
tkoyl240am Agent

Joined: 22 Jun 2008 Posts: 2 Location: 250  |
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:20 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
Thanks again SubDrag! haha
I had a feeling it had to do with that seemingly out of place reset and enable part. I wasn't sure where else to put it but now i know, I'll test it out asap.
EDIT: Works Perfect. _________________ Been playing Goldeneye since 1997 baby. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
 |