ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community

[Release] Exporter: GoldenEye 007/Perfect Dark -> Hammer

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Mapping and Modelling
View previous topic :: View next topic  
L. Spiro
Agent
Agent

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:52 am    Post subject: [Release] Exporter: GoldenEye 007/Perfect Dark -> Hammer Reply with quote Back to top

A short introduction as this is my first post.
I make video games for a living and was a dev on Heroes of Might and Magic, 187 Ride or Die, Ghost Recon 2, some Leisure Suit Larry games, and some others. I have worked for Vivendi Universal, Ubisoft, Eidos, Atari, and Lucas Arts.

As with everyone else on Earth, I loved GoldenEye 007 and Perfect Dark, and I love hacking and putting their maps into other games.

So I made a tool for that purpose. It was released to the GoldenEye Source team some years ago before Nick (shortly after) committed suicide (ugh I have been dealing with a lot of death today: 3 friends and one of my horses).

http://www.memoryhacking.com/GEHacking/Index.html
It starts with a bunch of pictures of the extracted GoldenEye 007 and Perfect Dark maps followed by the map files (in very simple text format, ripped by myself), the GoldenEye 007 textures (ripped by a well known member of the GoldenEye 007 hacking community but unfortunately I do not remember who), and the viewer/exporter.

The viewer has several options for exporting to .MAP files which can be loaded via Hammer/WorldCraft.

You will get a few minor errors per map since tiny polygons, when rounded to integer units, can become degenerate.
There may be a few invalid solids but these can be ignored. You would never find from where they are missing.

Once in .MAP format they can be edited as per your needs.