ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community

N64 Multi-Part Textures Explained
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Mapping and Modelling
View previous topic :: View next topic  
radorn

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:56 pm    Post subject: N64 Multi-Part Textures Explained Reply with quote Back to top

OK, this can get quite long, but if you are interested in making textures for GE you should read it, specially if you need to make textures meant to be tiled like in a puzzle.

First let's take a look at how commercial games deal with this with some examples. I'm not very good at graphic editing, so this is done with Paint Razz.

Here we can see an example of 2 textures from Mario 64 that are meant to be put side by side (actually one on top of the other), on different contiguous surfaces.

The first example are the textures ripped from the ROM with toad's tool 64, and tiled toghether in Paint (after a 4x resizing with poin-interpolation). As you can see, they line up perfectly, but when they are displayed in the game, mapped to polygons, something is missing. The last line from each texture is left out of the polygons' surfaces.
This can be seen in the examples from toad's tool and the emulators.
The reason to do this is because of a side effect of the texture filtering.
If you map the texture to a surface so it lines perfectly, at the borders you'll see a glimpse of the oposite side of the texture because how the texture filtering interpolates colors. You can see this in the included sketchup example, where UV mapping doesn't account for this color "bleeding".
At the left and right of the textures you don't see this because these textures are designed loop horizontally in a seamless manner.