ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community


[Map] Caverns
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye X
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:01 am    Post subject: [Map] Caverns Reply with quote Back to top

Caverns

That awesome level with that spiral in the middle of it, sadly this is the mp version.

Done
Import Portals
Import BG
Import Textures (HUGE HUGE thanks to 00action)


In Progress
Clipping


Not Done
Import presets.


Last edited by Spyster on Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:29 am; edited 5 times in total
 
View user's profile Send private message
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Ill try and get as many textures that need imported for Caverns posted in this topic. (Ill try and grab ID's)

Cavern Rock Walls
Walkway
Walkway Rails
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6720
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Doing the textures is fairly simple, but tedious. The editor outputs a complete list of texture ID's, so I just need to grab those images, check to see which I already have in, and stick in the rest. I keep track of everything in a detailed list, which helps enormously. Once you get some good progress going, I'll find some time to do the textures.
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
00action
00 Agent
00 Agent


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 410
Location: UK

 PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Great stuff, nice to see another level in progress, how about some picks.
_________________
My YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGWK44nRWYkQyNUcauIiIYQ?view_as=subscriber
My Twitch Channel
https://www.twitch.tv/00action
 
View user's profile Send private message
EternallyAries
007
007


Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 1943
Location: Las Vegas

 PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Glad to see a level being port to PD agan. Oh and i like to see some pics to.
_________________
There totally nothing to read here.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, uh, I would post pics, if the textures were right.

And I just got my computer wiped. its easy to get everything back again.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

-Snip-

Last edited by Spyster on Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:43 am; edited 1 time in total
 
View user's profile Send private message
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I am gonna try this again, I dunno why it didnt work, but I'm gonna delete the rooms that werent present in the MP version.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6720
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Try what you can and see how it goes. I'm not sure why you'd be running into a memory issue. Could be anything, really. Seems like it was working fine at one point, but then went bad? Keep us updated on this, as you find time to work on it.
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Im starting with texturing.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6720
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

The texturing is really the least of your worries. You should focus more on the clipping (converting the original GE clipping, adding in the walls and railings, and setting up the proper types), as well as the setup. I can bring in all the necessary images for the Caverns when they're needed. I know it's nice to see the level the way it is supposed to look while working on it, but so long as the geometry is all present, you should be able to make some good progress. Texture it if you wish, but just know that the ID's will all be changed and a new BG will need creating later on.
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Texturing is a pain.

Saying Error too big for rom.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6720
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

You might have to go into the 39850 Modifications menu, click the "Delete Debug Data (and J text)" tab, and then the "Clean Unused Files" tab. Save the new ROM, and try that one out. It'll shift the data, and also free up a lot of space used up previously by foreign language files.
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Spyster
007
007


Joined: 14 May 2009
Posts: 1159

 PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Texturing is, I think, half-way done.
 
View user's profile Send private message
00action
00 Agent
00 Agent


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 410
Location: UK

 PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

the texturing isn't a problem, here is what you do:

1. open up the textures editor in PD editor.
2. at the bottom left theres a button to import GE textures, press it.
3. choose the Textures.bin file that was processed when you converted the background (should be in same folder as background file)
4. save out the new rom
5. now save the project and when it asks for you to select your base rom, select the one you have just created.
6. now close your project and reopen it.

all textures should now be in place, now dont worry if there are some textures that dont look rite or some objects that have strange texture issues because wreck will sort that out when he puts your level in the the main GE:X rom

hope this helps
_________________
My YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGWK44nRWYkQyNUcauIiIYQ?view_as=subscriber
My Twitch Channel
https://www.twitch.tv/00action
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye X All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Cobalt 2.0 BB theme/template by Jakob Persson.
Copyright 2002-2004 Jakob Persson


Powered by BB 01, 02 BB Group

 


Please Visit My Other Sites: GoldenEyeForever.com | GrandTheftAutoForever.com

Got kids? Check out my Dora The Explorer site with games and coloring pages!

Our forums feature Nintendo 64 games, GoldenEye 007 N64 New Maps and Missions, GoldenEye Cheats, N64 Emulator, Gameshark, GoldenEye Multiplayer and more!

[ Privacy Policy ]