ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community


Vehicle ("Stunt" Track in GoldenEye)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye 007
View previous topic :: View next topic  
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 2:00 pm    Post subject: Vehicle ("Stunt" Track in GoldenEye) Reply with quote Back to top

I finally got a vehicle to follow a path. Happy dance.

https://youtu.be/3u3RnJnXFLk

The vehicle always defaults to facing north in game even though I have set it facing west. How do I remedy that?


[Edit]
12 message down is the video for the Stunt Track.


Last edited by loofadawg on Fri May 08, 2020 11:06 am; edited 2 times in total
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Is that only once it is set to a path? I recall something about this. If it's a hardcoded thing, you may need to rotate your level so that it suits your needs. Someone else may be able to chime in with info on it. But the truck seems to navigate that cavernous tunnel really well, so nice job setting it up.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Once it is set to a path it will automatically face north and move forward from there.

What I did (not shown in the video) was to move the truck far enough off the path where it would have time to steer left on to the first preset.

If just putting the truck on a north facing path does the trick then that's fine. The trucks path wasn't going to start in that spot anyways, I just wanted to make sure I knew how to do it so that when the time came to put it in the map I could. Plus, like you said, I needed to see if it would actually move through the path.

My next step is to get it to follow a path where it makes two stops along the way before repeating the path again (and again)

Actually it would follow one path then the next.
 
View user's profile Send private message
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 9:10 am    Post subject: Vehicles & Timers. Not compatible in the same action blo Reply with quote Back to top

I spent a few hours trying to find the cause of a crash in my action block.

Either I am doing it wrong or you cannot use sub action AE [Cycle Counter Reset And Start] is a vehicle's action block in a vehicles action block (?).

As a final check I put AE right after subaction CC, and it the level crashes immediately

(Code block edited from previous post)
Code:
0401:
AD56656869636C652050617468203030 = Vehicle Path 00

0200 Label : 00
CB00 Vehicle Start Path  CB (00)
CC02000078 Vehicle Set Speed  (Top Speed: 0.51 m/s, Acceleration Time: 2.00 Secs)

0201 Label : 01
03 Sleep For One Tick
E600000702 If Object In Room With Preset, Goto Label  (P: 0007) (Supply Truck)
0101 Goto First Label

0202 Label : 02
AE Cycle Counter Reset And Start

0203 Label : 03
03 Sleep For One Tick
B4000E1004 If Cycle Counter > X, Goto Label  (60.00 Secs)
0103 Goto First Label

0204 Label : 04
CB01 Vehicle Start Path  CB (01)
CC02000078 Vehicle Set Speed  (Top Speed: 0.51 m/s, Acceleration Time: 2.00 Secs)

0205 Label : 05
03 Sleep For One Tick
E600001106 If Object In Room With Preset, Goto Label  (P: 0011) (Supply Truck)
0105 Goto First Label

0206 Label : 06
AE Cycle Counter Reset And Start

0207 Label : 07
03 Sleep For One Tick
B4000E1008 If Cycle Counter > X, Goto Label  (60.00 Secs)
0107 Goto First Label

0208 Label : 08
0100 Goto First Label

04 End Of Block


Last edited by loofadawg on Thu May 07, 2020 3:37 pm; edited 3 times in total
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Is this part...

E600000F11 If Object In Room With Preset, Goto Label  (P: 000F) (Supply Truck) 

Going to return value "11"? If so, there is none in your block? Would that not go to "06" instead?

Also, when does it fail? Sometimes people use C3 text displays to find it step by step.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, that's an error that I just recently introduced. That subaction originally different. I was changing a few things trying to figure it out. It never gets to the part of the code.

So ignore that for now as I will fix it.

If you put a single AE after you start the vehicle path it crashes once it get to AE.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Perhaps you could handle the object position testing in a separate 10XX block? Test if truck in room, if so, do the sixty second count, then set objective bit value after. In your vehicle 04XX block, test if objective value was set, if so, go to new path. You would need loops, of course, and unsetting the objective value once you test for the truck position the second time. May be worth trying.

So 04XX just for moving the truck on paths (check if objective values), and 10XX to test position and timers (set/unset objective values).
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, I was wondering if there was away to do something like that. This is only my second action block to date so that will take me a bit to figure out that part out. Confused

I understand in theory what it you are talking about. Just need to look at everything and work it out.

Meanwhile, here is a quick map (not the one I am using in my project, but good for testing purposes)

I am able to get the vehicle to go from one point around the track then when it gets there, the truck is sent on the next path. then it repeats.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wtn7zw04vf6gvo1/Truck%20Path%202%20Path.xdelta?dl=0

This has a modified version on the original action block from before... minus the timers.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I was able to have it stop after the first path, wait for thirteen seconds, and then start again on the second path. However, on its way back to the beginning area, it decides to veer left and crash into a wall. I'm not sure as to why, since your setup didn't cause this to happen. It may bounce of the walls a bit, but it always seems to right itself. My start/stop path attempt is not as forgiving.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I noticed the faster it moves the more difficult of a time it has staying on course to the next preset. A wider track and more checks to throttle the speed would help. I initially had the speed twice as fast in the patch. It banged around like a drunk driver.

Thank you for help. I will see if I can recreate the blocks needed to pull off what you did.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I know people have had serious issues in the past with setting up moving vehicles, which is one reason you don't see them very often. Even GoldenEye used it just the once. They don't want to cooperate all the time, and eventually will find their way into a wall. Hopefully you can achieve the desired effect you are looking for. At least, it appears, a constant loop can work. Though with enough time, it could screw up at some point.

I had tried putting in an extra check to stop the truck dead, so it doesn't drive straight ahead into a wall in between path switching. But that just caused it to turn into a wall even sooner... Rolling Eyes
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

That track is most likely not sure enough... It was a quick one to post up here so others wouldn't have to and also to play around with. It becomes a game in itself if you put the editor in Ortho view looking top down over the track and move the presets around to see if one can get good results.

I got something fun I want to try out tommorow. Could be used for a cutscene if it behaves like I think it should.

We shall see. 🤞😁🤞
 
View user's profile Send private message
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Having some fun with the supply truck
Could possibly use something like this for a cut scene

video 1
https://youtu.be/sIiu0zBdK54

video 2
https://youtu.be/vf8ixQobt3Y


Last edited by loofadawg on Fri May 08, 2020 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7197
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Haha, that's awesome. You're right about the great possibility in a cutscene. You should try something with Ourumov's black car, since it has functioning wheels. Heh, you could put a row of cars (with no collisions) beneath the jump for real Evel Knievel action.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
loofadawg
Agent
Agent


Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 138

 PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Oh and I did get the action block working using the method you suggested. Thank you so much.

https://youtu.be/0V8LzGXIJ08

Careful level design and using the correct speed is going to be key making it successfully go through a more complex and longer path.

I think more presets too might help.

Lots of testing in store

Code:
0401:
AD56656869636C652050617468203030 = Vehicle Path 00
0200 Label : 00
03 Sleep For One Tick
9C8000000001 If Objective Bit On, Goto Label  (80000000)
0100 Goto First Label

0201 Label : 01
CB00 Vehicle Start Path  CB (00)
CC02000078 Vehicle Set Speed  (Top Speed: 0.51 m/s, Acceleration Time: 2.00 Secs)

0202 Label : 02
03 Sleep For One Tick
9C4000000003 If Objective Bit On, Goto Label  (40000000)
0102 Goto First Label

0203 Label : 03
CB01 Vehicle Start Path  CB (01)
CC02000078 Vehicle Set Speed  (Top Speed: 0.51 m/s, Acceleration Time: 2.00 Secs)
0100 Goto First Label

04 End Of Block



Code:
1000:
0200 Label : 00
9A80000000 Objective Bit Set On  (80000000)
9B40000000 Objective Bit Set Off  (40000000)

0201 Label : 01
03 Sleep For One Tick
E600000302 If Object In Room With Preset, Goto Label  (P: 0003) (Supply Truck)
0101 Goto First Label

0202 Label : 02
AE Cycle Counter Reset And Start

0203 Label : 03
03 Sleep For One Tick
B400038404 If Cycle Counter > X, Goto Label  (15.00 Secs)
0103 Goto First Label

0204 Label : 04
9A40000000 Objective Bit Set On  (40000000)
9B80000000 Objective Bit Set Off  (80000000)

0205 Label : 05
03 Sleep For One Tick
E600000706 If Object In Room With Preset, Goto Label  (P: 0007) (Supply Truck)
0105 Goto First Label

0206 Label : 06
AE Cycle Counter Reset And Start

0207 Label : 07
03 Sleep For One Tick
B400038408 If Cycle Counter > X, Goto Label  (15.00 Secs)
0107 Goto First Label

0208 Label : 08
0100 Goto First Label

04 End Of Block
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye 007 All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Cobalt 2.0 BB theme/template by Jakob Persson.
Copyright 2002-2004 Jakob Persson


Powered by BB 01, 02 BB Group

 


Please Visit My Other Sites: GoldenEyeForever.com | GrandTheftAutoForever.com

Got kids? Check out my Dora The Explorer site with games and coloring pages!

Our forums feature Nintendo 64 games, GoldenEye 007 N64 New Maps and Missions, GoldenEye Cheats, N64 Emulator, Gameshark, GoldenEye Multiplayer and more!

[ Privacy Policy ]