ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community


Newb to Making Levels via Gameshark.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Q-Lab Hacking Department
View previous topic :: View next topic  
R. Solaris
Agent
Agent


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

 PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:41 pm    Post subject: Newb to Making Levels via Gameshark. Reply with quote Back to top

I'm new to the Gameshark hacking stuff but I'm a long time player of Goldeneye, I'm wondering how I would go about doing all of this with, like if there is a Guide or Tutorial [besides the one Wreck made about coordinates] because I'd like to make a level with Weapons Etc. On that note is it possible to have CPU controlling on Multiplayer somehow with Gameshark codes?
 
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
bmw
Hacker
Hacker


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 1366
Location: Michigan

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:53 am    Post subject: re: tutorial Reply with quote Back to top

First, to answer your second question, it is not possible to have CPU controlled objects in multiplayer. Though it is possible to get them to appear in the level, if you get killed by one, the game crashes because the game is not setup to credit kill points to CPU-controlled objects. Though there may be a way around this (such as making a CPU kill count as a suicide count against the person who got killed) nobody has yet (at least to my knowledge) figured out how to do this.

As for being a beginner to hacking, I strongly recommend you start out playing with basic preset hacking in the facility. Presets are 4-digit numbers which tell an object to spawn in a certain point. Wreck has already mapped out every preset in the facility.

Click Here to see the maps

The first thing you'll need for any level you hack is the following chunk of code:
8102A932 0000
81063BF0 8009
81063BF2 E360
D102B522 0002
81063BF2 3860
D102B522 0003
81063BF2 0DE0
D102B522 0004
81063BF0 8008

The above code allows you to play 2, 3, or 4 players in your level. It also shortens up the game's intro when you first turn on your system.

Next thing you'll need is your respawn points - the facility has 8 respawn points (where players appear after death).

811F2DEA
811F2DF6
811F2E02
811F2E0E
811F2E1A
811F2E26
811F2E32
811F2E3E

Simply place a preset number after each of those lines of code to set your respawn points.

Next you'll want to place your weapons. There are 8 weapons sets as follows (gun, ammo box, ammo box)

811EFBB6
811EFC3E
811EFCF2

811EFDA6
811EFE2E
811EFEE2

811EFF96
811F001E
811F00D2

811F0186
811F020E
811F02C2

811F0376
811F03FE
811F04B2

811F0566
811F05EE
811F06A2

811F0756
811F07DE
811F0892

811F0946
811F09CE
811F0A82

2 Pieces of body armor:
811F0B36
811F0BBE

Flag (for flag tag game)
811EFB2E

That's about as simple as it gets right there. Advanced presets are a little more complicated (I'm still getting the hang of them myself) which control placement of objects such as glass panes and doors. I won't get into that just yet except to tell you how to move the locked door at the end of the normally playable facility:

801F2847

You can move that door to any of the available electronic door presets in the facility's backzone (see maps - doors are the red presets)

Once you get the hang of that the next step is to learn how to get other objects to appear in your level. But we'll get into that later.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7198
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Thanks, BMW. Smile
I was trying to do the same thing, back in the following thread...
http://shootersforever.com/forums_message_boards/viewtopic.php?t=104

Sadly, it didn't seem to take off. I didn't bother to do anymore after that. Well, I do have a few preset maps completed, just not the codes to go along with them. Complex was as far as that went. However, if people are interested, I'd be willing to do the same for Temple, Caves and Library (Basement/Stack). I had hoped that people would use that information to customize the stage. Nobody did it! Razz

I suppose, had their been objects, it would've caught on better.
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmw
Hacker
Hacker


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 1366
Location: Michigan

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:33 pm    Post subject: re: complex Reply with quote Back to top

Personally, I never much cared for the complex as a multiplayer map, that's why I left it alone.

Though I did use that tutorial as a basic reference (plus that's where I found the object master list posted by MX)

What I'd like to see is a preset map for the stack plus the code to go along with all the objects. Also a quick question - is the code that goes along with the objects the same code that you use when you convert the setup file over to a single player level? For example, if I were to use the stack setup to hack the control room, would I be using the same code for object placement? Just with different coordinates?

In other words, which one does the address portion of the code depend on - the setup file itself, or the level you are hacking?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dudeman
Agent
Agent


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 44
Location: UK

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Well, I'm also fairly unfamiliar with the gs stuff and memory editing. The first thing I used with hacking and emulation was Nemu 64. It's unique and crashes far less than the other emulators. In fact, there was a code which I used from Wreck's room pointer and coordinates tutorial. I managed to find an address which tells whether a player exists or not. This code does not work on other emulators, or even console, I expect. I've thought of a level myself for a while. It's situated in the bunker.

EDIT: fixed a typo... yeah, silly, I know.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7198
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

A stage will load whatever setup file it is using into the same starting position in memory. However, because of the differences in setups, you wouldn't be able to use the same codes. You'd have to figure out the difference and calculate it accordingly. Control would put any setup assigned to it at the same place. The best way to go about finding where the data gets loaded is by visiting the following addresses...

80075D08: Intro block (respawns)
80075D0C: Object list
80075D18: Presets (basic '000' type)
80075D1C: Presets (advanced '2710' type)

Grab the addresses at those locations as the stage is either loading or already in play. They'll lead you to the data you'll need to modify. Remember to have your codes on before doing so, as it won't load in the right setup file. That would be bad. Wink
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmw
Hacker
Hacker


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 1366
Location: Michigan

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:01 pm    Post subject: before I get too far into this Reply with quote Back to top

Before I get too far into this, I want to make sure I'm doing at least this much right....

So, if I wanted to load the Control Room with the Facility's setup file, I would first need to enter the code:

8002A8F7 0017 (load control room)
81037542 593C (point to facility's setup file)

With that code alone, nothing happens - I hear the Control room music but nobody every spawns. So I could view the savestate at that point to find the data I need to assign respawns?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7198
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Yep, that's right.
Now comes the hard part. Since the setup file for the Facility includes all of the Facility's presets, most (perhaps all) won't load within the boundaries of the stage. What you need to do, is determine which presets are used and modify them directly. These are the eight presets for the Facility respawns...

0091, 001D, 0102, 0004, 009C, 002E, 0022, 00A7

Go to address 80075D18 to locate where the basic presets are listed. Write down / type out that address, then go there. You'll be looking at the first "000" preset in the stage. Get out your computer calculator. It's located under your accessories folder, or in the Start window > All Programs > Accessories > Calculator. Once opened, click View > Scientific. Change it to Hex and Qword, either under the view tab or under the input / output field. Each preset is "2C" long. The address located at 80075D18 is your first basic preset "000". Let's say that it is 801ED000. So you want to know where preset number "16" is. You type "16" x "2C" in your calculator. You'll end up with "3C8". Now, add the first preset address to that. It'll calculate that preset "16" is at 801ED3C8. That is where you would make your coordinate and room pointer changes.

Now, if you need to modify an Advanced type, it's a little more work. Go to address 80075D1C to locate where the advanced presets are listed. Write down / type out that address, then go there. You'll be looking at the first "2710" preset in the stage. Get out your computer calculator. Each preset is "44" long. The address located at 80075D1C is your first advanced preset "2710". Let's say that it is 801ED000. So you want to know where preset number "2724" is. First, input the hex value "2724" into the calculator and subtract "2710" from it. That equals hex "14". You type "14" x "44" in your calculator. You'll end up with "550". Now, add the first preset address to that. It'll calculate that preset "2724" is at 801ED550. That is where you would make your coordinate and room pointer changes.

I know I have more detailed explainations that I've done for both MultiX and KCGhost. If I find them, I'll link to where they are or post the information.

Edit: Just found the thread. Give it a good read over, maybe even use codes to follow along. It's basically modifying the Archives multi setup file, but the process is the same. More indepth, so it should be helpful.

This is an excerpt from one of my posts...

Basic Presets (2C Hex in length):
Start of basic presets: 801E2808
How to use a Scientific Calculator to find a specific Basic Preset....
The Preset # x 2C, + 801E2808 = Beginning of Basic Preset
(X, Y, Z, Rotation & Room Pointer)

Advanced Presets (44 Hex in length):
Start of advanced presets: 801E4C4C
How to use a Scientific Calculator to find a specific Advanced Preset....
The Preset # - 2710, x 44, + 801E4C4C = Beginning of Advanced Presets
(X, Y, Z, Rotation, Room Pointer & Sizing)

http://shootersforever.com/forums_message_boards/viewtopic.php?t=178&start=0
_________________

YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK | VAULT | MOD DB | RHDN
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmw
Hacker
Hacker


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 1366
Location: Michigan

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Holy crap that's tedius!

But I think I figured it out. I'll let you know how my progress comes along.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bmw
Hacker
Hacker


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 1366
Location: Michigan

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Ok, this is where I start getting confused.

I found a set of coordinates located downstairs in the control room:

X - 44 0F 76 B8
Y - 44 01 06 C2
Z - C4 34 FA 21
ptr - 801DE7E0

I also found what I think is data for preset 0004 in the facility:

(at 801DBD68)

44 43 71 81 C4 6B 88 C9 44 08 4F 29 00 00 00 00 3F 80 00 00 35 86 37 BD B5 86 37 BD 00 00 00 00 3F 80 00 00 80 1E 4A 20 80 1C 09 E4

Where I get lost is how to make practical use of all of this data - such as, using my coordinates to change the preset data for preset 0004.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
R. Solaris
Agent
Agent


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I've been away for a few days but I'm back now and I'm going to try out what you said above BMW.
 
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Q-Lab Hacking Department All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Cobalt 2.0 BB theme/template by Jakob Persson.
Copyright © 2002-2004 Jakob Persson


Powered by BB © 01, 02 BB Group

 


Please Visit My Other Sites: GoldenEyeForever.com | GrandTheftAutoForever.com

Got kids? Check out my Dora The Explorer site with games and coloring pages!

Our forums feature Nintendo 64 games, GoldenEye 007 N64 New Maps and Missions, GoldenEye Cheats, N64 Emulator, Gameshark, GoldenEye Multiplayer and more!

[ Privacy Policy ]