ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community


Fixing old Goldeneye hacks?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye 007
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Excellent list. Very thorough. So patch one has two levels (Facility has gas releasing objects, and Bunker ii may need texture memory boost), patch two has three levels (Streets suspecting bad object, Jungle rocket shells, Cuba hi-res slot), Columbia patch you previously said can crash trying to start sometimes, and the special Cuba will be same as map in patch two.


Just to let people know how I usually test multi maps on console. I play with 2-Players (usually Xenia vs Samedi, as they use a high number of textures), Flag Tag, No Limit, and either Golden Gun or Power Weapons. I don't test in 3 or 4-Players much. Like any custom multi map, the possibility for room loading issues or lack of texture memory can occur, and gets worse with each added player. Even GE limits how many people can play certain maps, to help framerate. A level like Archives can also see two players spawn at the same start point, due to a small map with spawns in close proximity.



Oh, the three newest fixes are up. The Renegadist, could you please rename the "Control" level on your list as "Caves Control"? That is what it should have been previously, and I asked SubDrag to update it on Vault, as well.

If Dish Destruction was badly patched, never worked, and removed from Vault, I guess can go from your list, too (maybe you have already).
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Request for testers...

A major issue in custom missions, which can go unnoticed, is watch crashing. Two places where this can happen are: the objectives screen, and inventory. Should the level author have used incorrect text, something from an L_E bank that has not been loaded into RAM, the game will crash while attempting to show it. So, while testing the missions, please be sure to check that both the objectives screens (including all briefings) and your inventory (from all pickups - keys, lists, items, etc.) have no problems. If a special pickup only has a hyphen (-), that's okay. Just be sure to test on the newest patches, because I have fixed up some over the last while. Let's try our best to get GE / PD crash free!
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I think that rocket bug is on any level that has rocket ammo spawned on the ground, don't think it's just limited to Jungle now that I think about it.

Also, any chance we can get the rendering issues fixed? Pretty game breaking when half of the level (Statue and Aztec) becomes a black void.

And yeah, I'll rename Control when I get home.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I also ran into that exploding glitch on a few maps. It is very annoying, to say the least. Hand Grenades and Mines don't appear to do it. Maybe it is grenade rounds and rocket shells?

I can try to help boost background memory some, but it can only do so much. Plus, that means you might need to lower texture memory, so it's a battle of rooms not rendering versus corrupted looking images. I did improve Aztec a decent amount, but it is an intensive level. I took out the shuttle and DAT to lower texture usage, too.

Alright, so I changed the gas leaking props in Facility to be regular ones. I increased texture memory some in Bunker ii. I fixed a bizarre issue in Streets, where what was meant to be a gun was instead a door type, but at weapon block size. Seems like was some manual change done externally outside the GE Editor. The Editor had trouble even loading it, so I needed to identify the problem in a Hex Editing program. All incarnations of Cuba (three of them) have had the background memory reduced, and will run on console. Aside from the infinite explosion trouble, I think I got what was worst on list.

Oh, but Surface i won't load. I hear music, but it doesn't get past that.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2018 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Wreck wrote:
I also ran into that exploding glitch on a few maps. It is very annoying, to say the least. Hand Grenades and Mines don't appear to do it. Maybe it is grenade rounds and rocket shells?

I can try to help boost background memory some, but it can only do so much. Plus, that means you might need to lower texture memory, so it's a battle of rooms not rendering versus corrupted looking images. I did improve Aztec a decent amount, but it is an intensive level. I took out the shuttle and DAT to lower texture usage, too.

Alright, so I changed the gas leaking props in Facility to be regular ones. I increased texture memory some in Bunker ii. I fixed a bizarre issue in Streets, where what was meant to be a gun was instead a door type, but at weapon block size. Seems like was some manual change done externally outside the GE Editor. The Editor had trouble even loading it, so I needed to identify the problem in a Hex Editing program. All incarnations of Cuba (three of them) have had the background memory reduced, and will run on console. Aside from the infinite explosion trouble, I think I got what was worst on list.

Oh, but Surface i won't load. I hear music, but it doesn't get past that.

Good to hear so much has already been fixed on it, weird that Surface I won't load for you. Might be one of those cases where you have to retry loading the level several times, it worked for the first time on my end but damn was the level a slideshow. GE hacks, so far, rarely get the Major lag tag but this is a prime example of when to use that very tag.

Haven't done anything with anything today as I've been working for pretty much the majority of it and have the same shift tomorrow. I do however have both Tuesday and Wednesday off and I definitely intend to sit down and work on that list including testing those three new hacks.
_________________
 
View user's profile Send private message
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Going to test the new fixed 3 once I finish testing all of these old Misc. hacks, several crashed due to the ips patch not working on a non-byteswapped ROM so I have to go back and re-patch those.

Good news is only a couple have had issues so far considering some of these hacks are ancient.
_________________
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Noticed it was crashing on your list, so decided to take a look at it. Jiggy Paradise is now running (well, crawling may be a better word) on console. It had the same "texture header-less" issue as Entropy Soldier's intro logo. So I slapped in a small image and updated the model details. I did some other extremely minor things, just for the heck of it. On the plus side, the more Jiggy's you collect, the more you improve the framerate. Take that, Gruntilda! Razz
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Hahaha, right on! Speaking of, just have to figure out why Enemy Lasers and All Guns Zoom isn't accepting my save file and then I need to test those two + Blood Patch and the Spectrum Emulator patch and I'm done. After that I can get back to testing your fixes and we should be good to go.
_________________
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I just attempted to fix up the Jungle mission in the beta conversion ROM (which can read into newer Editor versions without crashing), but it seems it won't even load in an emulator? I keep getting a black screen. It looks as though KCGhost had included a bunch of new soldiers (complete with helmet and gun), as well as the camo chopper. The helicopter was the wrong type, but even correcting that is not enough. I replaced both the BG and clipping files, with no more success. I am a little confused with this one right now.

By the way, I believe Zka did fix the crashing issue with his Satellite Control Bunker #2 mission, and SubDrag updated the download. I also just sent Zka another of my own updates of it, which address some other minor details, so that may go up, as well.


.....

I am beginning to think there are even more issues with the beta conversion ROM. Some maps won't start, and Archives crashed in the folders once for me. It almost seems like it is using Egypt data, as if you choose that level first, Archives shows that text. The author, KCGhost, almost sounded like he just wanted to dump what he had, because he had grown exhausted of the project and wanted done with it. That may explain some of the leftover mess.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Yeah, the beta patch is an odd duck, definitely a lot to be fixed on it. Good news is I just finished testing the last of the Misc. hacks and will move on to testing the ones you've recently fixed.

Also, can you forward my request to SubDrag if he hasn't seen it. The thing about moving ROM hacks that have been updated to the top? Like when you click on a tab whether it be "Solo Levels" or whatever and the newest ones are displayed at the top, it would be a gigantic help to have any updated ones thrown up there as well so I know exactly what has been updated so I can re-test them. Maybe not the ones you've been fixing since they clearly are labeled as being updated but for any others after this.
_________________
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

He usually makes a post when something has been updated (and adds a version number), but perhaps not for something that was only recently released. By moving some of these old mods up, it will push down the newer ones. Some people browsing the site might see a whole slew of old patches, and not scroll down far enough to see any new releases, so they miss out.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Renegadist
Secret Agent
Secret Agent


Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 302
Location: Facility Vents

 PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I get that, for sure, but outside of what we're doing how often do people update their stuff?

Anyhow, got the three fixes on the SD and ready to go. Would also be nice to re-test those DKR hacks since I was using a Rev A ROM when everyone is using the launch day version.
_________________
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I suppose it all depends on the level author and if problems existed in the initial release. Multiplayer is probably less likely to see updates, unless it's a pack with new things being added. Not everyone supplies new info or readme details when submitting their revisions, which doesn't help matters.

The lists are looking good. Not much left to go. I'm not sure if everything can eventually be fixed, especially some of the miscellaneous mods, but definitely can on the majority of yellows.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 6668
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Jiggy Paradise fix is up.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sfGBCG
Agent
Agent


Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Location: England

 PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I came across some more oddities/bugs. Although most of these are probably known already. But here goes:
    1. Midnightkitteh's Yoshida Dam freezes to a black screen when it loads the level. (I'm aware there's a patch that fixes it. Sort of.)

    2. On P.T.C.H., if you let the opening cutscene run, you start without the scientist you supposed to follow, who happens to skip the first door and you can't open that door, meaning you have to detour the route. Skipping the opening cutscene, you're escorted by the scientist like it's meant to, I think.

    And once you complete the mission, it hardlocked the game, couldn't even reset to the Everdrive menu.

    3. GamerFreak5665's Secret Base freezes if you let the opening cutscene run, but skipping it doesn't.

    4. Midnightkitteh's DPRK Research Lab has - yes, you guessed it - pink test tubes which if shot, freezes the level.

    5. Rey's Sewers freezes if you shoot General Zander with a Gold PP7.

    6. In Rey's Surface Infilitration, one of the guards in the upper floor of the Satellite tower freezes if shot, which makes it uncompletable.

    7. Rey's Cemetery crashes when you try to fight Jaws? or at least in the area where Jaws was? (Uncompletable)

    8. In ShiftClick's Research Complex v2.0, if you blow up one of the 4 stacked boxes by the surveillance camera and a jeep in the large room with the shuttle, it freezes. The level is beatable otherwise.

    9. In Rey's Galvic Prison, accessing the Q-Watch briefing freezes the game, and there's too many alarm guards which lags all the way down to crashing the level, especially in the prison room. I'm guessing their amount needs to be reduced, and their head defence should be weaker then the body. (Beatable)

    10. Rey's Abandoned streets v1.1 freezes when you complete Objective A if one does not collect all of the documents? This bug may have been overlooked.

    11. In Rey's Puerto Rican Jungle, sometimes Xenia doesn't always seem to help you and wanders in the wrong places and one time the game spontaneously blacked out to the briefing screen saying, "KILLED IN ACTION" for no reason. Shocked

    12. In Q's Big Test by Rey, If you shoot the last tiny survellince cam with a dd44, it freezes? Then another time it didn't when shot with a RCP-90, but that was after the alarm went off, IIRC. (Uncompletable)

    13. Rey and Ami's Warehouse 8 has a few:
    • During the escort, if you run too far in front or away from the escort guard, it freezes.
    • If you walk or look towards the 2nd door where you walk out the door at the start in normal Archives, it freezes. (Or let's say if you head downstairs to the corridor of the interrgation room and turn right)
    • Killing one of the guards behind the desks in the 4-door/double set of doors room in the ground floor - not the one that goes upstairs - also freezes the game. (Uncompletable)
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> GoldenEye 007 All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12
Page 12 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Cobalt 2.0 BB theme/template by Jakob Persson.
Copyright 2002-2004 Jakob Persson


Powered by BB 01, 02 BB Group

 


Please Visit My Other Sites: GoldenEyeForever.com | GrandTheftAutoForever.com

Got kids? Check out my Dora The Explorer site with games and coloring pages!

Our forums feature Nintendo 64 games, GoldenEye 007 N64 New Maps and Missions, GoldenEye Cheats, N64 Emulator, Gameshark, GoldenEye Multiplayer and more!

[ Privacy Policy ]