 |
 |
GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
ShiftClick Agent

Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 111 Location: USA, Louisiana  |
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:28 am Post subject: Spawning Guards |
 |
|
How would I spawn a group of guards at the same time, when an alarm was sounded in the level using a 1000 action block? Also, how would I equip them with weapons, since the Spawn Weapon action is only 04XX? _________________ YouTube Channel: http://Youtube.com/Peep5167
---
Completed Levels: Missile Facility, Research Complex, Prison, Infiltration |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
SubDrag Administrator

Joined: 16 Aug 2006 Posts: 6173
 |
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:03 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
I think there's a sample on vault to do this, under Actions, but basically look at what Runway does. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
zoinkity 007


Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 1729
 |
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:07 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
A 1xxx action block can call 04xx type blocks. This simplifies things as well, since it lets you make one generic spawn routine that can be called repeatedly every time you need a guy with certain equipment, attribs, etc.
So, what you'd do is make an 04xx type that just spawns a guy and returns. Then, you call that, possibly within a short loop, in your 1xxx action.
That's the basic concept. If you need specific examples we can code those out for you. _________________ (\_/) Beware
(O.o) ze
(> <) Hoppentruppen! |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
ShiftClick Agent

Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 111 Location: USA, Louisiana  |
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:41 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
Now I have another problem, I have this 1000 action block coded for my next level:
0200 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
9C0000000101 Check If Objective Value, Return Loop If So (00000001)
0100 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0201 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
AE Reset Cycle Counter And Enable It
0202 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400100003 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (001000)
0102 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0203 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
C33404 Display Text Preset - Special forces are now aboard!*
0205 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
BD04FF00C404090000000006 Spawn Guard (Janus Special Forces: Black Jumpsuit) (Random Head)
AE Reset Cycle Counter And Enable It
0206 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
B400015007 If Cycle Counter > Value, Return Value Loop B4 (000150)
0106 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
0207 Resume If Return Value Loop Met
03 Leave The Routine, But When Return Continue From Spot
0105 Go To Beginning, Then Return Value Loop
04 Terminator
---
Everything in this block works like it's supposed to, except for the timer that creates a pause after a guard spawns. I set it to 150, but the block seems to ignore the timer, and spawns a guard every second, which creates a huge lag when this block initiates.
 _________________ YouTube Channel: http://Youtube.com/Peep5167
---
Completed Levels: Missile Facility, Research Complex, Prison, Infiltration |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Dragonsbrethren Hacker


Joined: 23 Mar 2007 Posts: 3058
 |
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:07 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
I'm not seeing anything wrong with your example either. One thing I'll note is that Rare's blocks in Bunker and Control (probably others) only spawned a few guards, then tested whether those IDs were alive and respawned them if not. This prevented too many guards from being spawned at the same time. |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
ShiftClick Agent

Joined: 16 Jun 2012 Posts: 111 Location: USA, Louisiana  |
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:09 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
Ok, I'll go and look over Bunker and Control's action blocks, then edit this one. _________________ YouTube Channel: http://Youtube.com/Peep5167
---
Completed Levels: Missile Facility, Research Complex, Prison, Infiltration |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
zoinkity 007


Joined: 24 Nov 2005 Posts: 1729
 |
Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:59 pm Post subject: |
 |
|
The counter isn't set against time. That's 150 iterations of the command block, and experience shows you can't necessarily tell how many different things are calling that block. You can sort of assume an amount of time in certain cases, but to be honest this is just going to generate the maximum number of guards.
Using IDs is the safest route. It's also one of the simpler ones to implement. _________________ (\_/) Beware
(O.o) ze
(> <) Hoppentruppen! |
|
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
 |