ShootersForever.com Forum Index

GoldenEye 007 Nintendo 64 Community, GoldenEye X, Nintendo 64 Games Discussion
GoldenEye Cheats, GoldenEye X Codes, Tips, Help, Nintendo 64 Gaming Community


GoldenEye Setup Editor Feature Requests List/Bugs
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Q-Lab Hacking Department
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SubDrag
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 5970

 PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Kerr Avon wrote:
Speaking of weapons, would it be possible to add a sixth weapon to the Warehouse multiplayer level? I mean so that an otherwise clean, unaltered Perfect Dark rom would now have the option to include a sixth weapon just like all of the other multiplayer levels already do. Maybe in the vents, as that's where Rare was rumoured to have been intending to place it, if I remember correctly.


That should be fairly trivial with the editor, just adding the missed multi weapon id (assuming one can actually run the editor).
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7009
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Here's a question, which could have added support for Editor modification. How do you set the maximum sniper zoom? The value assigned for it in the weapon stats appears to be the starting zoom when you begin the level. I would imagine the max is set somewhere in ASM. It would be nice to play around with that.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SubDrag
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 5970

 PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Wreck wrote:
Here's a question, which could have added support for Editor modification. How do you set the maximum sniper zoom? The value assigned for it in the weapon stats appears to be the starting zoom when you begin the level. I would imagine the max is set somewhere in ASM. It would be nice to play around with that.


Just in quick testing the zoom, it seems like it sets the max value. And then the number of zoom spots sort of is a scaling factor? Not 100% sure. But I think there's only the one weapon zoom in weapon block.
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7009
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Hmmm. I am mostly curious because of Runway. As most of us here are fully aware, zooming in all the way causes some really bizarre visuals. Parts of the background pull away from each other, and props / characters will appear to float. If you pull it back a tiny bit, it does help. I had wanted to play around with the max zoom to see just how much you'd need to reduce it so this issue goes away. When I modified the value in the sniper rifle weapon block, it only seemed to change the default zoom at the start of the level (when you first bring up the crosshairs). Standing in the same spot and zooming in full, when either at the default 15.0, or when changed to 30.0, made no difference. [rescaling the level to 1.0 presented its own issues while testing]

Oh, by the way, I've run into that Egypt sky transition issue again in another mod I'm working on. The gas sound effect plays temporarily as the sky switches after killing the second Samedi. Any idea why this is happening sometimes? Should I shoot a patch over to you, SubDrag, to see what's gone on?
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SubDrag
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 5970

 PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

Wreck wrote:
Hmmm. I am mostly curious because of Runway. As most of us here are fully aware, zooming in all the way causes some really bizarre visuals. Parts of the background pull away from each other, and props / characters will appear to float. If you pull it back a tiny bit, it does help. I had wanted to play around with the max zoom to see just how much you'd need to reduce it so this issue goes away. When I modified the value in the sniper rifle weapon block, it only seemed to change the default zoom at the start of the level (when you first bring up the crosshairs). Standing in the same spot and zooming in full, when either at the default 15.0, or when changed to 30.0, made no difference. [rescaling the level to 1.0 presented its own issues while testing]

Oh, by the way, I've run into that Egypt sky transition issue again in another mod I'm working on. The gas sound effect plays temporarily as the sky switches after killing the second Samedi. Any idea why this is happening sometimes? Should I shoot a patch over to you, SubDrag, to see what's gone on?


Yeah not sure how zoom works.

That issue I thought was related to the explosion sounds on ammo page. There were some bad editor changes accidentally bumping the # by one. Didn't think it was still happening. Do they still look good?
 
View user's profile Send private message
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7009
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

The only issue with the explosion sounds I remember, was that I was hearing a rocket launcher shot when certain things blew up. I think this gas sound has something more to do with the Stage Options Hardcoded Stage Ids, where there is the (Egypt) Fade FB Action set, and an invert option beneath it. Like maybe something goes bad randomly on export, even if you didn't touch that stuff. I'm going to recheck my ROM, because it may only be happening on console.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wreck
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Dec 2005
Posts: 7009
Location: Ontario, Canada

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

So I took a look at the Fade for Egypt, as it is exported from the Editor if you set a different ID and click the inverse box, versus a regular GE ROM. There was one of those differences that was actually applied to my ROMs, even though I am almost positive I never messed with any of that...

@ F620C
from 1000FFFF
to 2402001E

It is worth noting that the second ROM that this was happening to, appears to have been built off of the same one that was affected previously. So it technically only happened once. I'll need to verify this fixes the issue on console. Edit: Yeah, I didn't notice it this time.
 
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SubDrag
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 5970

 PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Back to top

I have that noted as

// Write Fix for Default Text Bank
//7F0C16DC: F620C default text bank
//2402001E *ADDIU V0,R0,001E
WriteLongToBuffer(mainSetup.GEROM, 0xF620C, 0x2402001E);
 
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShootersForever.com Forum Index -> Q-Lab Hacking Department All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80
Page 80 of 80

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Cobalt 2.0 BB theme/template by Jakob Persson.
Copyright 2002-2004 Jakob Persson


Powered by BB 01, 02 BB Group

 


Please Visit My Other Sites: GoldenEyeForever.com | GrandTheftAutoForever.com

Got kids? Check out my Dora The Explorer site with games and coloring pages!

Our forums feature Nintendo 64 games, GoldenEye 007 N64 New Maps and Missions, GoldenEye Cheats, N64 Emulator, Gameshark, GoldenEye Multiplayer and more!

[ Privacy Policy ]